India- the final chapter

After journeying through Delhi, Rajasthan, Agra, Khajuraho and Varanasi, I was controlled by contradictory emotions. Admiration and respect for an old civilization, its power and religiousness, were mixed with disbelief, disgust and fear of unknown. India is too complicated for an outsider to even try to begin to understand in a few days. The day we landed in India, I was excited about the novelty, but it very quickly overwhelmed me. By the end of the ten days, I felt I needed to take a break and escape to a place I would have more control over. We flew to Goa and spent the last four days of our visit there.

Goa with its beaches is unlike the rest of India and unlike similar places on other continents. Goa retained a strong Portuguese influence, with its houses with large colorful terraces hidden by exuberant tropical green vegetation. I cannot recall the last place I have been to where locals were so gentle, so helpful and so relaxed, imposing on every visitor to be the same. The gorgeous blue sky, sunlight, the moon bigger than elsewhere, the smell and sound of the ocean, the white sands, the palm trees, the night lights, the music and the food, and, above all, that sensation of pure and intense freedom, were exactly what I needed to come to ease with myself and settle my rambling soul.

I loved every second I spent in Goa, and if the rest of our journey was a marathon, I fully let myself be in Goa, and refueled with loads of energy. The days then went too fast and before we knew it, we were on a plane back home.

It was in London where I felt I was waking up from a dream. I was emerging from such a different world and suddenly what was around me was again what I knew. I could not believe that all the images, sounds, emotions from the last two weeks, actually happened to me.

It took another week or month to fully engage in my daily routine. Of all the places I have been to so far, India was the strongest. I will end by saying again that everyone should go to India once in their life and try on self all the feelings and sensations. I know now that I understand myself better, that I have become a newer, more complex person, and that I look at what is around me in a different way…

Thank you for reading. I will see you in the next journey…

Leave a Reply

